wedding vows

October 7, 2008

 After the monks’ blessing, Brad and Dawn went out on a rock and exchanged vows and rings privately.

 

Brad to Dawn

 

From this moment forward, I Brad, take you Dawn my best friend for life.   I pledge to honor, encourage, and support you through our walk together.  When our way becomes difficult, I promise to stand by you and uplift you, so that through our union we can accomplish more than we could alone.  I promise to work at our love and always make you a priority in my life. 

 

I promise not to be quick to anger, but to think before I speak and act.  I vow not to keep a record of wrongs, but to always keep the happy memories alive. I promise to give you my all and I know that I could not ask for more from you.

 

When you need someone to encourage you, I want it to be me.  When you need a helping hand, I want it to be mine.  When you have something to share, share it with me. When you long for a smile, turn to me.

 

You are my best friend, and now my wife. I give you this ring as an outward and visible symbol of my eternal love and the inward and spiritual bond, which unites our hearts, bodies, spirits and minds.

 

Dawn to Brad

 

On this day, I will marry Bradley James Sauber — my best friend, my confidant, my lover, my partner.

 

From the day we met, we’ve been connected spiritually in a familiar and comforting way and that connection has only grown stronger…no matter the distance and trials we’ve encountered along the way.

 

From this moment forward, I am your wife.  As such, I promise to give you unconditional love, patience, compassion, encouragement and endless amount of hugs and laughter. I commit to continually learn and grow and improve myself as a person and a wife.

 

I promise to love you, stand by you, and work with you through the Ying and Yang of life – through the laughter and the tears, through prosperity and adversity, through health and sickness, and the good times and bad.

 

Today, the world is no longer filled with “I” but “we and us” as our union creates a powerful combination that is far greater and meaningful than any part could be individually.

 

This Buddhist blessing represents the way I pledge to try to live our joined lives – in the moment, absent of “ego” and with contentment, compassion and peace.  If we fail sometimes — and we will — I commit to let go of any attachment and work with you to do better next time – together.

 

You are my Sweetie – my hero, my best friend, and now my husband. I give you this ring as an outward and visible symbol of my eternal love and the inward and spiritual bond, which unites our hearts, bodies, spirits and minds.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “wedding vows”

  1. […] that time, the monks and all others left the room and Brad and I exchanged vows on a rock above the sea.  We wrote our own vows and are eternally grateful to The Sanctuary’s […]

  2. wendy & cheikh said

    Mr & Mrs Brad Sauber

    Has a nice ring to it. Not sure if you are out of Bhutaan yet, most anxious to hear about what an amazing time you had and to see a few photos. I am sure you are also looking forward to some time just for the two of you again. Do hope everyone had a great time and that there were no major mishaps.
    We are all fine think of you both everyday I go in and look at photos to keep you close.
    Only 11 days till election it is looking very good for Obama, hopefully it will be large enough but the lawyers are already in place if it is close. We are having an election party here Cheikh is making nam and spring rolls. Told everyone that if it is a long nite they can all sleep over!!
    Waiting anxiously to here from you…
    Cheikh and Mimi also send their love..
    Love to both of you
    Mom

  3. wendy & cheikh said

    Dawn & Brad,
    So glad to hear from you and to see photos & read your dialogue. I know this is just a brief picture of your experience and am looking forward to have you share in person. Glad you managed to vote and be grateful you are there and not experiencing the nastiness that is out there. Of course you have also missed some of the most outrageious SNL material in years they are experiencing a rebirth!! We are all good enjoying a beautiful fall and your pics have gotten us in an adventurous mood so we are heading down the road below Vantage to see what we can discover nothing like Bhutaan but we can pretend will be Cheikh’s first time and I haven’t been down there for at least 25 yrs… Enjoy India and take care of each other, you are both in our thoughts each day.
    Love to both
    Mom, Cheikh, Mimi

Leave a Reply

